Head gasket change.....Advice...

Tips and help requests for your cars mechanics. points gaps, timming settings all those sorts of things

Head gasket change.....Advice...

Postby sebwarner1984 » Thu Sep 20, 2018 8:54 am

I’m going to change the head gasket as I appear to be leaking oil from that area. I had cleaned the engine up but oil soon re appeared. I have Viva HC L 1979. The Haynes manual seems to show two layers or two separate gaskets. Any one able to shed light on this? Do I need to order two separate gaskets? Anything I find on the net looks like just singles gaskets. Also any hints and tips on changing head gasket in general very very welcome as I have never done this before. Thanks in advance. Seb
sebwarner1984
De Luxe Viva
De Luxe Viva

Re: Head gasket change.....Advice...

Postby Mike Attew » Thu Sep 20, 2018 9:32 am

Hi,
Firstly hopefully you have joined the Club. The spares section supply head gasket kits at a reasonable price. I have just rebuilt my engine but unfortunately am still waiting for my gearbox bloke. The head gasket is one gasket or is on the 1972 but I wouldn't think it would change.
I used Wellseal on mine as stated in the Haynes manual but found the torque for the head bolts was stated wrong, I ended doing 49 lb/ft.
I also had the head skimmed and hardened exhaust valve seats fitted for unleaded while it was in bits.
Good luck.
Mike
Mike Attew
GT Viva
GT Viva

Postby sebwarner1984 » Thu Sep 20, 2018 1:24 pm

Mike Attew wrote:Hi,
Firstly hopefully you have joined the Club. The spares section supply head gasket kits at a reasonable price. I have just rebuilt my engine but unfortunately am still waiting for my gearbox bloke. The head gasket is one gasket or is on the 1972 but I wouldn't think it would change.
I used Wellseal on mine as stated in the Haynes manual but found the torque for the head bolts was stated wrong, I ended doing 49 lb/ft.