Help needed asap

Tips and help requests for your cars mechanics. points gaps, timming settings all those sorts of things

Help needed asap

Postby VivaHCmark » Thu Sep 27, 2018 12:55 pm

Long story short, car broke down the other morning, kangarooing so assumed carb jet blocked etc stripped, cleaned and while I was there, put my accuspark on.....now the car is back running, but I can't get a steady idle, it's like it's cammed or something similar, timing mark is where Haynes is saying, bang middle of the timing mark on case with vac off

The carb is a Weber 34ich....no amount of adjustment sorts the idle??
VivaHCmark
De Luxe Viva
De Luxe Viva

Re: Help needed asap

Postby 1972nail » Thu Sep 27, 2018 3:09 pm

First of all, check for air leaks around the carb and manifold. Make sure all bolts are tight. Make sure the vacuum advance pipe is not leaking air too. I've little experience of the Zenith carb itself but are you sure all the air and fuel ways in the carb are clear? I'm not just talking about the jets but the small passages in the carb body that supply the jets.

Now your Accuspark. Did you bypass the resistance wire in the loom and fit a 12V coil?

viewtopic.php?f=12&t=22328&hilit=bypass

Did you make sure that the distributor base plate earth wire was in good condition? Have you timed you ignition with a good timing light? Are you sure your plug leads are fitted in the correct order and in good condition?

Some people have reported that the Accuspark needs a couple of extra degrees of advance or retard to get it to run at it's best. I suppose it's probably all to do with manufacturing tolerances in the original distributor. If all the above are correct or have been fixed and they haven't cured the problem then add or subtract a couple of degrees and see if smooths out any. Don't go wild, just 2 or 3 degrees or so.
Editor of the VVOC Magazine ReVival

"When you have a Firenza like mine, who needs any Minis?" copyright David Maxwell 1979.
1972nail
Old Nail