HC Viva,won't start or turn over

Tips and help requests for your cars electrics. Post your tips help other sort problems out.

HC Viva,won't start or turn over

Postby MikeOC » Sat May 05, 2012 5:16 pm

well as is always the way,i have a show on tomorrow and i've come to start the new 2 door GLS to give it a wash etc,and its totally dead :cry: first thought was battery so put one on from the orange car that i know is fine as i've had that running today,but still nothing.

there is power there as everything is working,dash instruments,lights etc,but on turning the key there is absolutely nothing,no clicking,nothing....
any ideas please on what i need to be checking as i'm new to these cars.
i'm thinking it must be an ignition problem,or starter solenoid maybe?? the car hasn't been touched since driving it into the garage last weekend when i picked it up,so seems weird it should just be dead like this...

cheers,mike.
current cars...
1978 Viva HC 1300GLS 2 door,Red with BVR
1985 Ford Orion mk1 1.6 Ghia,quartz gold
2003 Peugeot 206 1.4 HDi 5 door,moonstone-the daily driver.
MikeOC
SL Viva
SL Viva

Re: HC Viva,won't start or turn over

Postby droopsnoot » Sat May 05, 2012 6:32 pm

All you can do is follow the current, grab the Haynes wiring diagram and test light and see where the current stops. Is there a loose connection on the bulkhead connector at the fuse box, for example, that just stops it hitting the starter?
droopsnoot
Old Nail
Old Nail

Postby bluemoontezza » Sat May 05, 2012 10:57 pm

If youve found soliniod remove white /red tracer wire,give this a seperate temp wire loom,flash this wire across something live+(the soliniod termil not the wiring)if it cranks now its a wiring fault from here back to the switch,if still nothing poss earth to solinoid if it still dont crank/solinoid make noise---i own a 2300 so not sure if yours is inertia type system(seperate soli and starter)but above info will still help terry
1972 Viva 2300 SL 2 Door HC669