Uncle's Viva 2300

Have you got yourself a barn find and want other to know?

Uncle's Viva 2300

Postby barrymckeich » Tue Aug 11, 2020 10:15 am

Hi All.

Thanks to the administration for allowing me guest access.

My uncle was an avid Vauxhall Viva fan, but he sadly passed away earlier this year.

Amongst the many Vauxhall related items we are currently looking through at his house is this car that was buried within his garage. I am no car expert, let alone a Vauxhall expert so would be keen for any feedback on this model.

We will be looking to sell it so any indication on value would also be welcomed, but not the main purpose of this posting.

It looked like my Uncle was customising the vehicle (he bought it new in 1972 - still have original receipt) having used it as his main car originally. Having had a look around the car it looks like he has removed any external locks etc. (the boot appears to have an electronic opening device installed). We think he was hoping, back in the day, to bring it up to racing standard.

Any feedback, thoughts, insights would be much appreciated!

Cheers

Barry
barrymckeich
De Luxe Viva
De Luxe Viva

Re: Uncle's Viva 2300

Postby Fred Dukes » Tue Aug 11, 2020 12:06 pm

Hi Barry thanks for sharing your find with us. I have add a number of these early HC 2300's
- I have sent you a private message
CHAIRMAN, and general dogs body
Fred Dukes
Club Chairman

Postby rizzo » Tue Aug 11, 2020 8:44 pm

Thats an interesting find, i first thought i knew the registration number as i sold a plate from a car 9 years ago with similar digits, with that it mind your plate alone will be £1500 upwards if it can be transferred i would get that valued.
As for the car i guess it all depends on the overall condition and what has or has not been done too it, and whether its all there,the pics would suggest it in good condition, being a two door 2.3 its also a rare car so worth more than the norm assuming it can be put back to original condition.